Current Project: Granny Stripes Blanket

Hello everyone!  Lately I’ve been working on a new crocheted blanket/afghan for either our sofa or bed.  (I haven’t decided yet.  It will probably start on one and end up on the other.)  My pile of acrylic yarn (all at once now: “EWW, acrylic!”) has been piling up over the past couple of years, and though I have come to prefer more natural fibers, I just couldn’t throw out or give away all this perfectly good yarn.  I am of the mindset that acrylic has its place in the universe, and keeping me warm in the winter is now that place!

I’m going incognito as ladylovely over at ravelry, where I found this great pattern.  I know this pattern has been around for ages, but I can’t resist how cute it is or how well it lends itself to the use of multiple colors.  I have been knitting almost exclusively when it comes to yarn crafts and found that I was really missing crochet.  I have been enjoying working on this project.  I’m using several bright, cheery colors that will brighten my day in the middle of February when it’s rainy and dreary and bitter cold.

Are any of you knitters or crocheters?  If you do both, are you preferential to one over the other?  Why?  Please share – I’d love to hear!

8 thoughts on “Current Project: Granny Stripes Blanket

  1. Those colors work really beautifully together! I personally am both a knitter and crocheter, and I love them both for their own strengths 🙂 I only crochet in my etsy shop because it’s more time efficient, but I love how detailed you can get with knitting, so I make a lot of sweaters for myself by knitting.
    And of course, I always love crocheting blankets!

    • I agree that they each have their own advantages and that they really can’t be compared. I love to crochet blankets – I tried knitting one once, and it took so long I gave up before it was finished. Crochet is a little more mindless for me.

      I have not attempted to make myself (or anyone else!) a sweater yet – I am too intimidated!

  2. It looks like such a simple afghan, but the use of so many colors really makes it look amazing. I definitely vote sofa for its future home.
    I knit and crochet, and each has its place. I like the flexibility of crocheting when making amigurumi or other little things, but I like the more professional appearance of knitting, so I often choose knitted garments. It’s so great being able to do both! However, I must confess that I prefer crocheting. Generally, whichever one you learned first is the one you’re more fond of, I’ve found. But you never know!

    • I have to agree with you – I nearly always choose a knitted garment over a crocheted one, but I think I enjoy crochet more. I learned to crochet over three years before I learned to knit, and it will always be my first love. 😉

      However, it is nice to have the other to go to when I’m getting tired of one of them. I’ll forever be doing both!

  3. Pingback: Current Projects: 1/4/2013 | peaches + gingham

  4. I do both but I prefer crochet because I’m better at it and its easier to me. The blanket is turning out lovely. I love how bright it is!

Leave a Reply

