Homemade Granola

Hello all!  Today is a rainy day, and the weather has started to cool down here.  I thought I’d share an easy recipe with you, perfect for cooler weather.

Recently I made homemade granola for the first time…and I must say I am addicted.  The recipe is from one of my favorite blogs and can be found here.

I’m in a particular kick-it-into-fall kind of mood today and opted for an oatmeal cookie inspired variation.  Who doesn’t love a spiced-just-right oatmeal cookie with a glass of cold milk on a fall day?  This is the perfect way to start off the morning for me.

I followed Emma’s recipe to the letter and used:

  • maple syrup
  • chopped and whole pecans, and
  • dried cranberries

in order to use up what I had on hand.  If only you could smell this as it’s baking…(insert drooling noises here).

Next time I make this, I plan to cut the temp back to 325.  The whole pecans got a bit darker than I’d like, so I will probably only use chopped nuts in the future.  I plan to try many more variations – I’m thinking a peanut butter sandwich influenced variation for my PB-lovin’ hubby?  I’d love to hear your ideas – share them with me in the comments section!

This will be a great breakfast for several days to come…if I can keep hubby out of it first – he’s already snacking on it while it cools.  Happy baking!

3 thoughts on “Homemade Granola

Leave a Reply

